Shadow and Bone


Abby Throndson, Co-Editor-in-Chief

One of the most anticipated TV show releases for the book community is coming to Netflix on April 23rd. The “Shadow and Bone” TV series follows Leigh Bardugo’s Grishaverse, a high-fantasy universe loosely inspired by early-1800’s Russia. The announcement of the series and cast have excited the book community as the Grishaverse is very popular and well-loved on social media book communities, mainly BookTok on TikTok and BookTube on YouTube.

The Grishaverse currently consists of seven books, across three separate series, the Grisha Trilogy, the Six of Crows duology, and the Nikolai Duology. Bardugo suggests that readers take on the Grishaverse in this order:

The Grisha Trilogy-

“Shadow and Bone”

“Siege and Storm”

“Rise and Ruin”

The Six of Crows Duology-

“Six of Crows”

“Crooked Kingdom”

The Nikolai Duology-

“King of Scars”

“Rule of Wolves” (coming March 30, 2021)

“Shadow and Bone” will follow the Grisha Trilogy, as well as intertwine a new story from the Six of Crows duology. The Grisha Trilogy takes place in Russian-inspired Ravka, with the main protagonist, Alina Starkov, who has an extraordinary power that has the potential to save her war-torn world. As she joins the elite army of magical soldiers known as the Grisha, she discovers that power comes at a cost and the line between ally and enemy is never as simple as it seems.

The TV series will also provide new insight into the backstories for the main crew of the Six of Crows duology, including Ineja Gafta, Kaz Brekker, and Jesper Fahey. Bardugo has teased that the inclusion of these characters may set up a Six of Crows storyline for a future season of the show. The duology mostly takes place in Ketterdam, a city in Kerch, on an island near Ravka.

The eight-episode series will be released on Netflix on Friday, April 23rd. The first episode titled “A Searing Burst of Light,” is directed by Lee Toland Krieger, known for directing “The Age of Adaline,” with a screenplay by the series’ showrunner, Eric Heisserer, known for “Arrival” and “Bird Box.” The show’s cast consists of six main characters, Jessie Mei Li as Alina Starkov, Ben Barnes as the Darkling, and Archie Renaux as Malyen Oretsev, characters of the Grisha Trilogy. With “Six of Crows” characters Freddy Carter as Kaz Brekker, Amita Suman as Inej Gafta, and Kit Young as Jesper Fahey. Various other recurring characters, that fans may know from the books, will be present in the first season, like Nina Zenik and Genya Safin. However, fans have noticed the absence of a few audience favorites, including Nikolai, of the Grisha Trilogy and the Nikolai duology, and Wylan, of the Six of Crows duology. 

So whether you’ve already read the Grishaverse books and are patiently waiting for the arrival of the series, or have never even heard of it, the Shadow and Bone series may just be the next Netflix favorite, so get your popcorn ready for April 23rd, and memorize the saying, “No mourners, no funerals,” trust me, it will come in handy.